Identity Cards Bill — Compulsory registration when applying for a Passport — 18 Oct 2005 at 19:00

The majority of MPs voted against altering a section of the Identity Cards Bill which says:

  • When someone applies for a designated document, they must either apply to be entered into the National Identity Register, or prove they are already listed and update its contents.[1]

so that the word "must" was replaced with the phrase "may, if the applicant so chooses".[2]

Had this been passed, it could not be made compulsory to register for an ID card when renewing a passport, driving license, or other potentially "designated document".

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 176089.8%
DUP0 7077.8%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab309 (+2 tell) 21 (+2 tell)094.4%
LDem0 60096.8%
PC0 30100.0%
Respect0 10100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 60100.0%
UUP1 00100.0%
Total:310 278092.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLab (minister)aye
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye
Clare ShortBirmingham, Ladywoodwhilst Labaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLab (minister)aye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)aye
Andrew LoveEdmontonLab (minister)aye
Martin CatonGowerLab (minister)aye
Linda RiordanHalifaxLabaye
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Robert WareingLiverpool, West Derbywhilst Labaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)tellaye
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
Paul FlynnNewport WestLab (minister)aye
Katy ClarkNorth Ayrshire and ArranLab (minister)aye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)tellaye
Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLab (minister)aye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
John SmithVale of GlamorganLab (minister)aye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
David WinnickWalsall NorthLab (minister)aye
Neil GerrardWalthamstowLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive