Identity Cards Bill — Free of charge — rejected — 18 Oct 2005 at 20:45

The majority of MPs voted against inserting the phrase "free of charge"[1] into the phrase in the proposed law which says "An ID card is a card which is issued () to an individual by the Secretary of State..."[2]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 176 (+2 tell)090.8%
DUP0 8088.9%
Independent0 20100.0%
Lab308 (+2 tell) 18293.2%
LDem0 60096.8%
PC0 30100.0%
Respect0 10100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 5083.3%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:308 276292.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabaye
Clare ShortBirmingham, Ladywoodwhilst Labaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Michael ConnartyLinlithgow and East FalkirkLabaye
Robert WareingLiverpool, West Derbywhilst Labaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
Gerald KaufmanManchester, GortonLabboth
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
David HamiltonMidlothianLabaye
Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabaye
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Katy ClarkNorth Ayrshire and ArranLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabboth
Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
David DrewStroudLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive