Opposition Parties (Financial Assistance) — 8 Feb 2006 at 17:44

This motion clarifies the expenses paid to MPs who do not take up their seats (Sinn Féin MPs did not take up their seats because this involved swearing an oath of allegiance to the Queen). Previously these MPs had forfeited their expenses for a year from 1 April 2005 (Division here), but after this motion was passed that forfeiture was amended (Division here) to end on 31st October 2006, with the following arrangements coming into place on 1st November:
(1) Financial assistance should be provided, with effect from 1st November 2005, to any opposition party represented by Members who have chosen not to take their seats and thus do not qualify to participate in the proceedings in Parliament, towards expenses wholly, exclusively and necessarily incurred for the employment of staff and related support to Members designated as that party's spokesmen in relation to the party's representative business.
(2) The amount of financial assistance payable to a party under this Resolution shall be calculated and paid by analogy with sub-paragraphs 1(1) to (6) and (8) and 2(1) to (5) of the Resolution of the House of 26th May 1999.
(3) As soon as practicable, but no later than nine months after 31st March each year, a party claiming financial assistance under this resolution shall furnish the Accounting Officer of the House with the certificate of an independent professional auditor, in a form determined by the Accounting Officer, to the effect that all expenses in respect of which the party received financial assistance during the period ending with that day were incurred exclusively in accordance with paragraph (1) of this resolution.
(4) If an audit certificate under paragraph (3) above has not been furnished within the time specified no further financial assistance under this resolution shall be paid until such a certificate is so furnished.

The House divided: Ayes 315, Noes 215.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 163 (+2 tell)084.2%
DUP0 90100.0%
Lab310 (+2 tell) 8090.7%
LDem4 28051.6%
PC0 30100.0%
Respect1 00100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:315 215085.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLab (minister)no
Frank FieldBirkenheadLab (minister)no
David HamiltonMidlothianLab (minister)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Lindsay HoyleChorleyLab (minister)no
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLab (minister)no
Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLab (minister)no
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)no
Norman BakerLewesLDemaye
Don FosterBathLDem (front bench)aye
Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDem (front bench)aye
Matthew TaylorTruro and St AustellLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive