Support for Members Who Have Chosen Not to Take Their Seats — 8 Feb 2006 at 17:59

This amendment, which was passed, halves from a year to six months the period of time for which Sinn Féin MPs forfeited their entitlement to expenses (around £40,000-worth) for refusing to take their seats (which involves swearing an oath of allegiance to the Queen). From 1st November 2005 new arrangements for paying expenses to non-sitting MPs were made according to the previous vote. The text of this amendment reads:
That the Resolution of the House of 10th March 2005 relating to Support for Members who have chosen not to take their Seats be amended by substituting for the words 'a period of suspension of one year commencing on 1st April' the words 'the period 1st April 2005 to 31st October'

The House divided: Ayes 329, Noes 178.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con1 154 (+2 tell)080.1%
DUP0 90100.0%
Lab311 (+2 tell) 4089.8%
LDem18 10045.2%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:330 178082.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDem (front bench)no
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLab (minister)no
Tim FarronWestmorland and LonsdaleLDem (front bench)no
Frank FieldBirkenheadLab (minister)no
David HeathSomerton and FromeLDem (front bench)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Douglas HoggSleaford and North HykehamConaye
Paul HolmesChesterfieldLDem (front bench)no
David HowarthCambridgeLDem (front bench)no
John PughSouthportLDem (front bench)no
Bob RussellColchesterLDem (front bench)no
Adrian SandersTorbayLDemno
Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDem (front bench)no
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)no
Richard Younger-RossTeignbridgeLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive