[S2M-4253] Decision Time — 20 Apr 2006 at 17:03

This looks like the vote on S2M-4253

The description in the bulletin on 2006-04-19 is:

*S2M-4253 Colin Fox: Local Government Pensions—That the Parliament notes with concern the Scottish Executive’s announcement on 17 January 2006 to abolish the Rule of 85 for members of the Local Government Pension Scheme (LGPS) in Scotland; recognises that the proposed changes will have a detrimental impact on many working people who support vital public services, often on low wages, in a wide range of occupations in Scotland, including workers in local government, the Environment Agency, police support, cleaning and waste companies, the voluntary sector, bus companies, higher education and others; notes that this decision means that LGPS members are denied the same rights and protections as members of other public sector pension schemes which have agreed to allow retirement at the age of 60 on a full pension; further notes recent comments made by EU Commissioners on this issue indicating that changes to the Rule of 85 would not necessarily be a requirement under EU legislation and previous assurances given to COSLA and the relevant trade unions that the Rule of 85 for members of the LGPS in Scotland would be retained; recognises that members of the LGPS contribute to the scheme and want to ensure that there is a viable and sustainable future for it; further recognises that the financial standing of Scotland’s LGPS is significantly healthier than schemes elsewhere in the UK and therefore calls for a distinctive approach, and further calls on the Executive to review and publish its legal advice regarding the Rule of 85 and to work with trade unions and COSLA to find a settlement which protects local government workers’ pension rights. Supported by: Carolyn Leckie*

You can search for this motion (S2M-4253) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that motion S2M-4253, in the name of Colin Fox, on local government pensions, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con11 0064.7%
Green0 0457.1%
Independent1 0380.0%
Lab46 0092.0%
LDem17 00100.0%
SNP15 0062.5%
SSCUP0 01100.0%
SSP0 2383.3%
Total:90 21181.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Ms Rosemary ByrneSouth of Scotlandwhilst SSPno
Tommy SheridanGlasgowwhilst SSPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive