Assisted Dying for the Terminally Ill Bill — Delay Second Reading — 12 May 2006 at 17:17

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted against allowing a physician to assist those with a terminal illness to die.

Members of the House of Lords were considering the Assisted Dying for the Terminally Ill Bill[1]. The motion being debated was:

  • that this Bill be now read a second time

The amendment approved via this vote was:

  • to leave out "now" and at end insert "this day six months".

This division was on an amendment to give a second reading to the Bill in six months' time, rather than immediately. This is a polite way of indicating opposition to the Bill. A six months' delay would make it impossible for the Bill to progress in this session.

Some controversy emerged during the debate over whether it was accepted Lords practice to, in effect, reject a Private Members' Bill at second reading.

The operative clause 1 of the Bill began:

  • Subject to the provisions of this Act, it shall be lawful for—­
  • (a) a physician to assist a patient who is a qualifying patient to die—
  • (i) by prescribing such medication, and
  • (ii) in the case of a patient for whom it is impossible or inappropriate orally to ingest that medication, by prescribing and providing such means of self-administration of that medication, as will enable the patient to end his own life, ..

The Bill's provisions applied to patients with terminal illness with the capacity to take a decision to end their lives, who had taken that decision.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop14 053.8%
Con56 (+1 tell) 1233.0%
Crossbench36 18 (+1 tell)30.6%
Green0 1100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab24 (+1 tell) 4532.9%
LDem14 21 (+1 tell)48.6%
Total:145 9734.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The Earl of ArranConno
Lord Bowness Con (front bench)no
The Earl of Crawford and BalcarresConno
Baroness Flather Conno
Lord Gilmour of CraigmillarConno
Viscount Goschen Conno
Lord Hodgson of Astley AbbottsCon (front bench)no
Lord Laing of DunphailConno
Lord Moore of Lower MarshConno
Baroness Noakes Con (front bench)no
Lord Palumbo Conno
Lord Prior Conno
Lord Reay Conno
Lord Butler of BrockwellCrossbenchno
Lord Cobbold Crossbenchno
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchno
The Earl of ErrollCrossbenchno
Baroness Greengross Crossbenchno
Lord Joffe Crossbenchtellno
Lord Kerr of KinlochardCrossbenchno
Lord Marsh Crossbenchno
Lord May of OxfordCrossbenchno
Lord Monson Crossbenchno
Lord Moser Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Murphy Crossbenchno
Baroness Prashar Crossbenchno
Lord Quirk Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Rees of LudlowCrossbenchno
Baroness Richardson of CalowCrossbenchno
The Earl of SandwichCrossbenchno
Baroness Warnock Crossbenchno
Lord Wright of RichmondCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Acton Labaye
Lord Adonis Lab (minister)aye
Lord Ahmed Labaye
Lord Bilston Labaye
Lord Brennan Labaye
Lord Brooke of AlverthorpeLab (minister)aye
Lord Brookman Labaye
Lord Carter Labtellaye
Lord Clarke of HampsteadLabaye
Lord Dixon Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Falkender Labaye
Lord Griffiths of Burry PortLabaye
Lord Lofthouse of PontefractLabaye
Lord MacKenzie of CulkeinLabaye
Lord Pendry Labaye
Lord Prys-Davies Labaye
Viscount Simon Lab (minister)aye
Lord Strabolgi Labaye
Baroness Symons of Vernham DeanLabaye
Lord Taylor of BlackburnLabaye
Lord Turnberg Labaye
Baroness Uddin Labaye
Baroness Wilkins Lab (minister)aye
Lord Williams of ElvelLab (minister)aye
Lord Winston Lab (minister)aye
Lord Carlile of BerriewLDemaye
Lord Clement-Jones LDem (front bench)aye
Viscount Falkland LDem (front bench)aye
Lord Livsey of TalgarthLDem (front bench)aye
Lord McNally LDem (front bench)aye
Lord Methuen LDem (front bench)aye
Baroness Nicholson of WinterbourneLDemaye
Lord Roberts of LlandudnoLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Sandberg LDem (front bench)aye
Baroness Scott of Needham MarketLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Shutt of GreetlandLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Thomas of GresfordLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Tordoff LDem (front bench)aye
Baroness Williams of CrosbyLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive