House of Lords Reform — Remove Hereditary Places once Reform has taken place — rejected — 7 Mar 2007 at 17:09

The majority Noes rejected an amendment[1] to a motion that proposed removing the remaining hereditary peers in the House of Lords. The amendment would have meant that hereditary peers would only be removed after elected members took their place in the Lords. However, it was defeated.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con8 173 (+1 tell)092.9%
Independent1 10100.0%
Independent Labour1 00100.0%
Lab309 (+2 tell) 5089.8%
LDem0 62 (+1 tell)0100.0%
PC3 00100.0%
Respect1 00100.0%
SNP6 00100.0%
Total:329 241092.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John BercowBuckinghamwhilst Con (front bench)no
Philip DaviesShipleyConno
Julie KirkbrideBromsgroveCon (front bench)no
John MaplesStratford-on-AvonCon (front bench)no
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsCon (front bench)no
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightConno
Andrew TyrieChichesterCon (front bench)no
Ann WintertonCongletonCon (front bench)no
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLab (minister)aye
Louise EllmanLiverpool, RiversideLab (minister)aye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLab (minister)aye
Patrick HallBedfordLab (minister)aye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive