Lisbon Treaty — Commons timetable for debate — 28 Jan 2008 at 21:45

The majority Aye voters approved a Government 'programme motion'[1] restricting the House to set a timetable for debating the European Union (Amendment) Bill, which implements the Lisbon Treaty.

The debate will now take place over 12 allotted days (i.e. days selected for debate of this bill, as opposed to 12 consecutive days). On most days 4 1/2 hours are allowed for a motion that approves the Government's policy towards the Lisbon Treaty in a specific policy area, followed by 1 1/2 hours when the House can debate any selected amendments relating to that area.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 172 (+2 tell)089.7%
DUP0 3033.3%
Independent0 2050.0%
Lab299 (+2 tell) 8087.8%
LDem0 52082.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SNP0 3050.0%
Total:299 243086.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLab (minister)no
David DrewStroudLab (minister)no
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLab (minister)no
Frank FieldBirkenheadLab (minister)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Graham StringerManchester, BlackleyLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive