Lisbon Treaty — Exclude the European Court of Justice from extending its power without authorisation — rejected — 26 Feb 2008 at 23:00

The majority No voters rejected an amendment[1] to the European Union (Amendment) Bill that sought to limit the powers of the European Court of Justice. The Aye-voters were especially concerned by the "accumulation in power and judicial authority of the European Court of Justice, and the diminution in power of the national Parliaments."[2]

However, Jim Murphy MP argues that:[3]

  • '...the EU has only those powers that the member states give it through treaties, and that everything else remains with member states. It sets out the relationship between the EU and member states, making it clear that powers are given to the EU by member states, not the other way around. It makes it clear that member states are the masters of the treaties, as the German constitutional court has put it.'

The European Union (Amendment) Bill implements the Lisbon Treaty into UK law. The main aims of the Lisbon Treaty were to[4]:


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 145 (+2 tell)076.2%
DUP0 6066.7%
Independent1 0020.0%
Lab291 (+2 tell) 3084.1%
LDem0 000.0%
PC3 00100.0%
SNP5 0083.3%
Total:300 154072.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLab (minister)aye
David DrewStroudLab (minister)aye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive