Lisbon Treaty — Accept the changes of terminology in the Lisbon Treaty — 3 Mar 2008 at 22:00

The majority Aye voters successfully carried the motion[1] that clause 3 of the European Union (Amendment) Bill should remain in the Bill.

This Clause was particularly contentious as it was argued by the No-voters that it effectively confirmed the abolition of the European Community and its replacement by the European Union[2]. The effect of this, it was argued, was to increase the powers of the European Union to include common foreign and security policy and parts of criminal justice and policing.

However, Jim Murphy MP argued that:[3]

  • '...our negotiated position has ensured the right to opt in or out on any amending measure, Schengen-building measures and transitional measures. Whenever there is a transition from former pillar three to the new pillar one Community method[4], in the new democratic architecture, we have a chance to opt in on each proposal. At the end of the five-year transitionary period,[5] we have the right to opt out en bloc, en masse, and can then apply to opt back in to each and every new measure.'

The European Union (Amendment) Bill implements the Lisbon Treaty into UK law. The main aims of the Lisbon Treaty were to[6]:


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con1 144 (+2 tell)075.8%
DUP0 1011.1%
Independent0 1020.0%
Lab281 (+2 tell) 2081.0%
LDem37 0058.7%
PC3 00100.0%
SNP4 0066.7%
Total:326 148075.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeCon (front bench)aye
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLab (minister)no
David DrewStroudLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive