Lisbon Treaty — Parliamentary control of decisions made at the European Union level — rejected — 4 Mar 2008 at 20:15

The majority No voters rejected an amendment[1] to the European Union (Amendment) Bill. The main intention of the amendment was to ensure that ministers would have to secure parliamentary approval for their negotiating position at European Union (EU) meetings. In addition, ministers could not vote in favour of regulations that would affect public services like the NHS or schools unless they had secured parliamentary approval.

Some Tories moved the amendment because they were concerned that the Treaty of Lisbon enabled the European Union (EU) to take on more and more powers without having to ask national governments or its citizens.[2] They drew attention to the passerelle clauses which enables the EU to make policy decisions through qualified majority voting (QMV) rather than unanimity. This means, in practice, the EU could make policy decisions for the UK in some areas even if the UK objected.

However, the government argued that parliament would still have a say over policy areas which moved from unanimity to QMV.[3]

The European Union (Amendment) Bill implements the Lisbon Treaty into UK law. The main aims of the Lisbon Treaty were to[4]:


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con1 20010.9%
DUP0 3033.3%
Independent0 4080.0%
Lab281 (+2 tell) 24 (+2 tell)087.8%
LDem46 0073.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP0 3050.0%
Total:329 57061.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

David HeyesAshton-under-LyneLabaye
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye
Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLab (minister)aye
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)aye
Jon CruddasDagenhamLabaye
Colin BurgonElmetLabaye
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLab (minister)aye
Martin CatonGowerLab (minister)aye
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Jon TrickettHemsworthLabaye
Frank DobsonHolborn and St PancrasLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabtellaye
Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)tellaye
David HamiltonMidlothianLab (minister)aye
Colin ChallenMorley and RothwellLab (minister)aye
Katy ClarkNorth Ayrshire and ArranLab (minister)aye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)aye
Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLab (minister)aye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Paul TruswellPudseyLabaye
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConno
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
David DrewStroudLab (minister)aye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive