House Committee: Fourth Report — 31 Mar 2008 at 16:10

rose to move, That the fourth report from the Select Committee (HL Paper 78) be agreed to.

The report can be found at http://www.publications.

Moved, That the fourth report from the Select Committee (HL Paper 78) be agreed to.-(The Chairman of Committees.)

rose to move, as an amendment to the Motion, at end to insert "save for the words

"the Management Board member" in paragraph 3,

"Both post-holders would be members of the Management Board." in paragraph 4, and

"the Management Board member" in paragraph 6(a),

and with the addition of the words "The post-holder would not be a member of the Management Board." at the end of paragraph 6(a)."

On Question, Whether the said amendment shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 47; Not-Contents, 194.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop5 019.2%
Con7 27 (+1 tell)17.1%
Crossbench33 (+1 tell) 8 (+1 tell)23.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab111 451.8%
LDem33 (+1 tell) 042.5%
UKIP0 150.0%
Total:189 4132.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Baker of DorkingCon (front bench)no
Lord Blackwell Con (front bench)no
Lord Bowness Con (front bench)no
The Earl of CaithnessConno
Lord Dixon-Smith Con (front bench)no
Lord Strathclyde Con (front bench)no
Lord Wakeham Con (front bench)no
Baroness Boothroyd Crossbenchaye
Lord Eames Crossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Howe of IdlicoteCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Marsh Crossbenchaye
Baroness Masham of IltonCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Palmer Crossbench (front bench)tellaye
Lord Rowe-Beddoe Crossbenchaye
Lady Saltoun of AbernethyCrossbench (front bench)aye
Viscount Slim Crossbenchaye
Lord Brookman Labaye
Lord Clarke of HampsteadLabaye
Lord Davies of CoityLab (minister)aye
Lord Lofthouse of PontefractLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive