Counter Terrorism Bill — Lord Chief Justice to appoint "special coroners" — rejected — 10 Jun 2008 at 21:45

The majority No voters rejected an amendment[1] to the Counter-Terrorism Bill. This was a proposal that the Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales or the nominated senior judge, rather than the Secretary of State, should appoint "special coroners". However, it was defeated.

The Counter-Terrorism Bill under discussion contained a provision for "special coroners" to be appointed to run inquests where the secretary of state had decided that a jury would not be used.

The proposal that a member of the judiciary ought make the appointment was put forward by Cambridge MP David Howarth who spoke[2] in the debate on the matter. The fact this vote raises question of separation of political and judicial authority in this country was also made during the debate.[3]

The main aims of the Counter-Terrorism Bill were to[4]:

  • Allow the Secretary of State to order a coroner's inquest to take place without a jury
  • Allow longer terrorism sentences
  • Change some of the rules around intercept evidence
  • Allow the assets of convicted terrorists to be seized
  • Allow greater use of DNA samples and enable the police to take the fingerprints or DNA from those subject to control orders


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con1 1761197.9%
DUP0 6066.7%
Independent0 3060.0%
Independent Labour0 10100.0%
Lab319 (+2 tell) 4092.6%
LDem0 55 (+2 tell)192.1%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 4066.7%
UKIP0 10100.0%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:320 2571293.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Greg HandsHammersmith and FulhamCon (front bench)no
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)both
Charles HendryWealdenCon (front bench)both
Adam HollowayGraveshamCon (front bench)both
John MaplesStratford-on-AvonCon (front bench)both
Owen PatersonNorth ShropshireCon (front bench)both
John RedwoodWokinghamConboth
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsCon (front bench)both
Nicholas SoamesMid SussexCon (front bench)both
Hugo SwireEast DevonConboth
Ed VaizeyWantageCon (front bench)both
Nigel WatersonEastbourneCon (front bench)both
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye
Mike HancockPortsmouth SouthLDem (front bench)both

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive