Motion to introduce a Bill that would demonstrate the influence of the EU on UK legislation — rejected — 8 Oct 2008 at 13:41

The majority No voters rejected a motion[1] to introduce a Bill that would force a Minister to declare, whenever a Government Bill or statutory instrument was introduced to the House, whether that Bill or statutory instrument was a result of a decision of the European Union.

Mark Harper, the Conservative Shadow Minister for Work and Pensions who introduced the motion, asserted that this Bill was intended to promote greater transparency as to what proportion of UK law was initiated by the European Union[2]. Those opposing the motion suggested that it was simply a ruse to move Britain closer to leaving the European Union[3].


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 107 (+2 tell)056.5%
DUP0 4044.4%
Independent0 2040.0%
Lab197 (+2 tell) 5158.7%
LDem0 43068.3%
PC1 1066.7%
Respect0 10100.0%
SDLP3 00100.0%
SNP0 3042.9%
UKIP0 10100.0%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:201 168158.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Ann CryerKeighleyLab (minister)aye
David DrewStroudLab (minister)aye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)aye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)aye
John AustinErith and ThamesmeadLab (minister)both

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive