Energy Bill — 22 Oct 2008 at 17:47

Consideration of amendments on Report resumed.

moved Amendment No. 4:

After Clause 37, insert the following new Clause-
"Heat from deep geothermal sources
(1) The Secretary of State may make regulations putting into place for the United Kingdom a licensing system for the exploitation of heat from deep geothermal sources for both the direct use of that heat and for the generation of electricity.
(2) The licensing regime shall be determined after a period of consultation by the Secretary of State with industry, geological experts, local authorities, energy producers and other interested parties.
(3) The licences shall relate to-

(a) those areas of the United Kingdom deemed by the Secretary of State to have potential for the exploitation of deep geothermal heat, and(b) individual geographically delineated areas of land, to be known as "tenements"."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 4) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 73; Not-Contents, 144.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 14.0%
Con0 136.4%
Crossbench9 1412.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab129 (+2 tell) 060.1%
LDem0 40 (+2 tell)55.3%
UUP0 1100.0%
Total:139 6929.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Birt Crossbenchno
Lord Chorley Crossbenchno
Lord Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchno
Lord Jay of EwelmeCrossbenchno
Lord Joffe Crossbenchno
Baroness Murphy Crossbenchno
Lord Patel of BradfordCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Rees-Mogg Crossbenchno
Lord Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchno
Lord St John of BletsoCrossbenchno
Lord Stevens of KirkwhelpingtonCrossbenchno
Baroness Young of HornseyCrossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive