Iraq War Inquiry — No reasonable impediment — rejected — 25 Mar 2009 at 15:51

The majority of MPs voted against an inquiry into the Iraq war by an independent committee of privy counsellors.

The majority of MPs voted against the motion, which read:[1]

  • This House
  • welcomes the Prime Minister's announcement of 18 December 2008[2] that a fundamental change in the British forces' mission in Iraq will occur by 31 May 2009 at the latest and that at that point the rapid withdrawal of the British troops will take place, taking the total from just under 4,100 to under 400 by 31 July 2009;
  • notes that following this announcement there remains no reasonable impediment to announcing an inquiry on the war in Iraq; and
  • calls for such an inquiry to be conducted by an independent committee of privy counsellors, and to review the way in which the responsibilities of Government were discharged in relation to Iraq, and all matters relevant thereto, in the period leading up to military action in that country in March 2003 and its aftermath, and to make recommendations on lessons to be drawn for the future.

An alternative motion was voted through in the next division.[3]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 178 (+2 tell)093.3%
DUP4 0044.4%
Independent1 4083.3%
Lab295 (+2 tell) 13289.1%
LDem0 57090.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 70100.0%
UUP1 00100.0%
Total:301 263289.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabaye
Linda RiordanHalifaxLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Peter SoulsbyLeicester SouthLabaye
Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabboth
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Paul TruswellPudseyLabboth
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive