Iraq War Inquiry — Declines to make a proposal — 25 Mar 2009 at 15:51

The majority of MPs voted against holding a further inquiry into the Iraq war at this time but to agree a time will come when an inquiry is appropriate.

The majority of MPs voted for the motion, which read:[1]

  • This House
  • notes the Resolutions of this House of 31 October 2006,[2] 11 June 2007[3] and 25 March 2008[4] on an Iraq inquiry;
  • recognises the heroic efforts of the British armed forces in Iraq who have a continuing role which this House should be careful not to undermine;
  • further recognises that a time will come when an inquiry is appropriate, but
  • declines to make a proposal for a further inquiry at this time, whilst important operations are underway in Iraq to support the people and government of Iraq.

(The Prime Minister's Spokesman had insisted that he thought it was okay to make an announcement on when troops would return, but continue to stonewall the announcement of an inquiry whilst the Armed Forces were still operational in Iraq.)[5]

This replaced a motion that was rejected in the previous vote.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 179 (+2 tell)093.8%
DUP4 0044.4%
Independent1 4083.3%
Lab294 (+2 tell) 12188.3%
LDem0 58092.1%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 70100.0%
UUP1 00100.0%
Total:300 264189.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabno
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Gordon PrenticePendleLabno
Linda RiordanHalifaxLabno
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Peter SoulsbyLeicester SouthLabno
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive