Postal Services Bill [HL] — Report (1st Day) — 11 May 2009 at 16:31

Clause 1 : Post Office companies to be owned in their entirety by the Crown

Amendment 1

Moved by Lord Clarke of Hampstead

1: Clause 1, leave out Clause 1 and insert the following new Clause-

"Transfer of property etc.

(1) On such day as the Secretary of State may by order appoint, all the property, rights and liabilities to which the original holding company was entitled or subject immediately before that day shall be transferred so as to become by virtue of this section property, rights and liabilities of a company nominated for the purposes of this section by order of the Secretary of State.

(2) The Secretary of State may nominate for the purposes of this section any company formed under the Companies Act 2006 (c. 46) which is a company limited by guarantee with no share capital.

(3) The company shall at all times continue to be a company limited by guarantee with no share capital.

(4) An order nominating a company for the purpose of this section shall contain such provisions as to the appointment of directors, and their terms of office, and members of the company as the Secretary of State may consider appropriate.

(5) In this section-

(a) "the appointed day" means the day appointed under this section,

(b) "the original holding company" means the company that was nominated under section 62 of the Postal Services Act 2000 (c. 26) (transfer of property etc to nominated company), and

(c) "the Post Office company" means the company nominated for the purposes of this section."

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.2%
Con64 032.0%
Crossbench25 616.5%
DUP0 133.3%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab90 (+2 tell) 12 (+2 tell)48.6%
LDem44 160.0%
UUP0 1100.0%
Total:224 2235.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Viscount Allenby of MegiddoCrossbenchaye
Baroness Boothroyd Crossbenchaye
Baroness Campbell of SurbitonCrossbenchaye
Lord Cobbold Crossbenchaye
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Palmer Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Bilston Labaye
Lord Bragg Labaye
Lord Brooks of TremorfaLabaye
Lord Christopher Lab (minister)aye
Lord Clarke of HampsteadLabtellaye
Lord Evans of ParksideLabaye
Lord Howie of TroonLabaye
Lord Hoyle Labtellaye
Lord Jordan Labaye
Lord Lea of CrondallLabaye
Baroness McDonagh Labaye
Lord Morgan Labaye
Lord Morris of HandsworthLab (minister)aye
Lord Sawyer Labaye
Lord Livsey of TalgarthLDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive