National Policy Statements — Parliamentary committee writes a report — 20 May 2009 at 16:10

The majority of MPs voted in favour of the formal rules of procedure for presenting a National Policy Statement for review by Parliament, under section 9(2) of the [Planning Act 2008]

The new Infrastructure Planning Commission is to decide on planning applications for nationally important infrastructure "in accordance with any relevant national policy statement".[1]

The rules are as follows:[2]

  • The Liaison Committee either designates a select committee or appoints a new National Policy Statement Committee to consider the proposal.
  • A National Policy Statement Committee has between 7 and 13 members chosen from the Select committees for Communities and Local Government, Energy and Climate Change, Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Transport, and Welsh Affairs.
  • The Committee shall have power to send for persons, papers and records, and to appoint specialist advisers.
  • The Committee shall cease to exist according to a deadline set by the Secretary of State, whether or not it has had time to report.
  • The committee may invite other MPs to attend its meetings without voting rights.

This set of rules was passed, after an amendment to them had been rejected.[3]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 152 (+1 tell)079.3%
DUP0 1011.1%
Independent0 5083.3%
Lab265 (+2 tell) 8078.6%
LDem0 46 (+1 tell)074.6%
Total:265 212077.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Dai HavardMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Gordon PrenticePendleLabno
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Paul TruswellPudseyLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive