Marine Conservation Bill — Marine Conservation Zones designated to conserve marine ecosystem as a whole — rejected — 26 Oct 2009 at 22:00

The majority of MPs voted against the designation of Marine Conservation Zones for the purpose of conserving the marine ecosystem as a whole, in addition to other factors.

This vote was held during consideration of part of the Marine Conservation Bill, which says:[1]

  • The appropriate authority may make an order under section 116 if it thinks that it is desirable to do so for the purpose of conserving --
  • marine flora or fauna;
  • marine habitats or types of marine habitat;
  • features of geological or geomorphological interest.

The proposed amendment, which was rejected, was to insert a fourth line, which read:[2]

  • the marine ecosystem as a whole.

The amendment is designed to enable a policy of creating a network of marine reserves -- some of which themselves might not be of conservation interest -- but are essential to allow living things to migrate from one zone to another without being trawled along the way.[3]

The Minister was against the amendment because it is difficult to define the extent of the "marine ecosystem as a whole".[4]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 119 (+2 tell)062.7%
DUP0 1011.1%
Independent1 4083.3%
Lab242 (+2 tell) 11073.1%
LDem0 23036.5%
SNP3 0042.9%
Total:246 158065.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Katy ClarkNorth Ayrshire and ArranLab (minister)aye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
David DrewStroudLab (minister)aye
Neil GerrardWalthamstowLab (minister)aye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLab (minister)aye
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Linda RiordanHalifaxLab (minister)aye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)aye
Paul TruswellPudseyLabaye
Joan WalleyStoke-on-Trent NorthLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive