Finance Bill — Clause 5 — Power to Repeal High Income Excess Relief Charge — 15 Jul 2010 at 16:15

The majority of MPs voted to give ministers the power to repeal the high income excess relief charge under secondary legislation (ie. without prior approval of, or full scrutiny by, Parliament).

The high income excess relief charge is an additional tax on pension savings for those with a gross income of more than £150,000 in a year. It is provided for in Section 23 of the Finance Act 2010 which refers to the detailed rates and thresholds etc. within Schedule 2 of the act.

During the debate Justine Greening, the Economic Secretary to the Treasury said the government had plans to restrict pensions tax relief and once the detail of that is finalised the high income excess relief charge provisions would be repealed.[1]

The HMRC currently state[2]:

  • the Government announced[3] it is considering restricting pensions tax relief from 6 April 2011 by reforming the existing pension tax allowances, principally through a significantly reduced annual allowance. If the new approach is confirmed, the High Income Excess Relief Charge legislation will be repealed by 31 December 2010.

The vote was on the question of if Clause 5 (Power to repeal high income excess relief charge)[4] should remain part of the Finance Bill; the majority of MPs voted in favour of it staying in the Bill.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con265 (+2 tell) 0087.3%
DUP0 2025.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 188 (+2 tell)073.6%
LDem45 0078.9%
PC0 2066.7%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:310 198080.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive