Use of the House of Commons Chamber by the United Kingdom Youth Parliament — 21 Jul 2010 at 23:15

The majority of MPs voted in favour of allowing the UK Youth Parliament to use the House of Commons chamber on an annual basis.

The text of the motion which was passed read:

  • That this House
  • welcomes the work of the United Kingdom Youth Parliament in providing young people with an opportunity to engage with the political process;
  • notes that the House agreed on 16 March 2009 to allow the Youth Parliament to meet once in the Chamber; recalls that this meeting took place on 30 October 2009; and
  • accordingly resolves that the UK Youth Parliament should be allowed to meet once a year in the Chamber of this House for the duration of this Parliament.

This was the second time a vote on this motion was held as the result of the first vote was questioned.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con243 16084.6%
DUP5 1075.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab195 4077.1%
LDem44 0077.2%
PC3 00100.0%
SDLP2 0066.7%
SNP5 0083.3%
Total:499 21080.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Sir David AmessSouthend WestCon (front bench)no
Brian BinleyNorthampton SouthCon (front bench)no
Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)no
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestCon (front bench)no
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Mark FieldCities of London and WestminsterConno
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
Stewart JacksonPeterboroughConno
Edward LeighGainsboroughCon (front bench)no
Anne MainSt AlbansCon (front bench)no
Karl McCartneyLincolnConno
David NuttallBury NorthConno
Anna SoubryBroxtoweCon (front bench)no
Robert SymsPooleConno
Sammy WilsonEast AntrimDUP (front bench)no
Ian LucasWrexhamLab (minister)no
Chris RuaneVale of ClwydLabno
Jon TrickettHemsworthLabno
Dave WattsSt Helens NorthLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive