UK Armed Forces in Afghanistan (Backbench Business) — 9 Sep 2010 at 17:46

Robert Goodwill MP, Scarborough and Whitby voted with the majority (Teller for the Noes).

The majority of MPs voted against making support for the continued deployment of UK armed forces in Afghanistan conditional on a change to military strategy designed to reduce loss of life, injuries, and costs.

The House of Commons was debating the motion:

  • That this House supports the continued deployment of UK armed forces in Afghanistan.

The division was on the subject of if the following text ought be added to the end of the motion:

  • "provided that a more realistic military strategy is adopted designed to fulfil the United Kingdom's long-term interests in the region at lesser cost in life, limb and financial resources."

The majority of MPs voted to reject that additional text.

This division was followed by one in which the majority of MPs voted in favour of the unamended motion: "That this House supports the continued deployment of UK armed forces in Afghanistan."[1]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con237 (+1 tell) 3 (+1 tell)079.1%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab39 1 (+1 tell)015.9%
LDem30 (+1 tell) 1056.1%
PC1 0033.3%
SNP4 0066.7%
Total:312 5050.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jane EllisonBatterseaCon (front bench)tellaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastConaye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)aye
Alison SeabeckPlymouth, Moor ViewLab (minister)tellaye
Tom WatsonWest Bromwich EastLab (minister)aye
John HemmingBirmingham, YardleyLDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive