Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Clause 9 — Number and distribution of seats — 20 Oct 2010 at 21:00

The majority of MPs voted to reduce the number of MPs by 50 to 600 and to equalise the number of electors in each UK Parliamentary constituency with some exceptions for hard to access areas.

Technically the vote was on accepting Clause 9 of the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill as amended.

The key elements of the clause include:

  • Setting the number of MPs at 600 (a reduction from 650). This provision was the subject of a separate division[1] and was the primary subject of debate on the Clause.
  • Equalising the number of electors in each Parliamentary Constituency to between 95%-105% of the "quota" arrived at by dividing the total number of electors by the number of MPs to be elected.
  • Making exceptions to the lower limit for sparsely populated areas to prevent impractically large constituencies.
  • The constituencies of "Orkney and Shetland" and "Na h-Eileanan an Iar" (The Outer Hebrides) are to be preserved.
  • A provision allowing Northern Ireland to be allocated a set number of seats.

What was Clause 9 during the committee of the whole house became Clause 10[2] in the next draft of the Bill.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con274 (+2 tell) 4091.5%
DUP0 5062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 150 (+2 tell)058.9%
LDem48 0084.2%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 4066.7%
Total:322 167076.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive