Lawful Industrial Action (Minor Errors) Bill — Second Reading — 22 Oct 2010 at 13:03

The majority of MPs voted to give a second reading to the Lawful Industrial Action (Minor Errors) Bill[1] ie. to allow it to continue on its path to become law.

The Bill is intended to allow the results of union ballots on industrial action to stand despite any "small accidental failures" in relation to the way the ballot was conducted. It also seeks to prevent legal action for breach of contract being taken against those involved in industrial action in cases where the action was illegal due to such "small accidental failures". Further details of the proposals are included in the explanatory notes associated with the Bill[2].

John McDonnell MP introduced the proposed legislation to the Commons as a Private Members Bill.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con2 23 (+2 tell)08.8%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab82 (+2 tell) 0032.6%
LDem0 407.0%
PC1 0033.3%
SNP1 0016.7%
Total:87 27018.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)aye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive