Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Make Alternative Vote Referendum Only Consultative — 30 Nov 2010 at 18:50

Lord Prescott voted to make the referendum on the "alternative vote" only indicative rather than requiring change if the majority of those voting in the referendum voted for it.

The majority of members of the House of Lords voting against making the referendum on the "alternative vote" only indicative rather than requiring change if the majority of those voting in the referendum voted for it.

The House of Lords was considering the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 2: Clause 1, page 1, line 5, leave out "A" and insert "An indicative"

This would have taken effect on Clause 1 sub-clause (1) which at the time of the vote stated:

  • A referendum is to be held on the voting system for parliamentary elections.

The effect of the amendment would have been to make clear the referendum not binding giving final say on the voting system would be up to Parliament.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 14.0%
Con119 (+1 tell) 361.8%
Crossbench16 2522.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab0 138 (+2 tell)59.3%
LDem64 (+1 tell) 079.3%
Other0 111.1%
UUP0 133.3%
Total:199 17050.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Hamilton of EpsomCon (front bench)aye
Lord Higgins Conaye
Lord Howard of RisingConaye
Lord Aberdare Crossbenchno
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchno
Lord Bilimoria Crossbenchno
Lord Birt Crossbenchno
Lord Broers Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Cameron of DillingtonCrossbench (front bench)no
The Earl of ClancartyCrossbenchno
Viscount Craigavon Crossbench (front bench)no
The Earl of ErrollCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Jay of EwelmeCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Kakkar Crossbenchno
The Earl of ListowelCrossbenchno
Lord St John of BletsoCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Turnbull Crossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Waverley Crossbenchno
Lord Maginnis of DrumglassUUPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive