Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Political Party Spending During Referenda — 15 Dec 2010 at 17:41

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted against a step intended to work towards reducing the amount political parties can spend in referendum campaigns.

The House of Lords was considering the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 39AC: Page 4, line 3, after “15A” insert “and as if the Schedule set out in Schedule (Limits on referendum expenses by permitted participants) to this Act were inserted into that Act as Schedule 14A.”

This would have taken effect on clause 6(1) of the Bill which stated:

  • (1) The 2000 Act has effect in relation to the referendum as if the Schedule set out in Schedule 9 to this Act were inserted in that Act as Schedule 15A.

The intended effect of treating the schedule on "limits on referendum expenses by permitted participants" as if it were within the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 was explained during the debate leading up to the vote as being to enable a subsequent amendment, number 126, which sought to reduce the amount that a registered political party can spend on a referendum campaign from £5 million to a maximum of £500,000.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con116 (+1 tell) 058.5%
Crossbench16 2019.1%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab0 137 (+2 tell)57.9%
LDem59 (+1 tell) 072.3%
Non-affiliated1 05.9%
UUP0 133.3%
Total:192 15948.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Aberdare Crossbenchno
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchno
Lord Bew Crossbenchno
Lord Cameron of DillingtonCrossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Craigavon Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Deech Crossbench (front bench)no
The Earl of ErrollCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Finlay of LlandaffCrossbenchno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Baroness Howe of IdlicoteCrossbenchno
Lord Jay of EwelmeCrossbenchno
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchno
The Countess of MarCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Palmer Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Ramsbotham Crossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive