Loans to Ireland Bill — Programme — Expidte Consideration of the Bill — 15 Dec 2010 at 13:21

The majority of MPs voted to approve a proposed timetable[1], and rules, intended to expedite the consideration of the Loans to Ireland Bill

The programme sought to expedite the reading of the Loans to Ireland Bill.

The motion included several provisions to speed up the Bill reading process in light of the dire economic situation Ireland was facing. Those who voted against the motion expressed their concern at the limits it would place on Parliamentary scrutiny of the Loans to Ireland Bill.

The motion suggested time restrictions and restrictions on questions being put to the house including:

  • A provision to ensure the reading of the Bill would occur in the same day.
  • Various other provisions seeking to avoid repetitive questions.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con246 (+2 tell) 11 (+2 tell)185.6%
DUP0 6075.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab1 201.2%
LDem45 0078.9%
SDLP0 1033.3%
Total:292 21150.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)tellno
Douglas CarswellClactonConno
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)no
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
James ClappisonHertsmereCon (front bench)no
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)tellno
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexCon (front bench)no
Anne MainSt AlbansCon (front bench)no
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no
Mark RecklessRochester and StroodCon (front bench)no
Graham StuartBeverley and HoldernessCon (front bench)no
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)no
Neil ParishTiverton and HonitonCon (front bench)both
Andrew GwynneDenton and ReddishLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive