European Union Bill — Clause 18 — Status of EU law dependent on continuing statutory basis — 11 Jan 2011 at 22:00

The majority of MPs voted against reaffirming the sovereignty of the United Kingdom Parliament in relation to EU law.

The majority of MPs voted against inserting the amendment tabled by William Cash[1], which would have inserted the following into Clause 18 of the European Union Bill:

  • 'The sovereignty of the United Kingdom Parliament in relation to EU law is hereby reaffirmed'

He also tabled a second amendment, which would have added the words

  • 'and not by virtue of a common law principle'

to the end of the Clause. This second amendment was also defeated in the same vote.

Mr Cash was concerned that there was an increasing sense in academic and legal circles that Parliament derived its power from common law (law made by judges, and that follows precedent), rather than being itself Sovereign.

Speaking against the amendments, David Lidingstone, Minister for Europe, said:

  • 'The Government think that this amendment is not necessary. It is not necessary to take up additional parliamentary time through the process that the Opposition propose. In the event that there were to be a serious challenge to the authority and sovereignty of Parliament, I would expect that hon. Members, on both sides, would want an immediate statement from the Minister and an urgent debate, instead of waiting 12 months for an annual report, which is the only remedy that the hon. Gentleman proposes.'

A second division took place over the preparing of the annual report that David Lidingstone mentions: more information is available on its division page.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con256 (+1 tell) 25 (+2 tell)092.8%
DUP0 5062.5%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 803.1%
LDem51 (+1 tell) 0091.2%
PC3 00100.0%
SDLP3 00100.0%
Total:314 39056.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Steven BakerWycombeConaye
Brian BinleyNorthampton SouthConaye
Peter BoneWellingboroughConaye
Andrew BridgenNorth West LeicestershireConaye
Douglas CarswellClactonConaye
Bill CashStoneContellaye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConaye
James ClappisonHertsmereConaye
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConaye
Richard DraxSouth DorsetConaye
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkConaye
Gordon HendersonSittingbourne and SheppeyConaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringConaye
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexContellaye
Chris KellyDudley SouthConaye
Edward LeighGainsboroughConaye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastConaye
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConaye
David NuttallBury NorthConaye
Mark RecklessRochester and StroodConaye
John RedwoodWokinghamConaye
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConaye
John StanleyTonbridge and MallingConaye
Peter TapsellLouth and HorncastleConaye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightConaye
Charles WalkerBroxbourneConaye
John WhittingdaleMaldonConaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive