Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Curtail Debate and Make Decsion On Setting Number of MPs Between 500 and 650 — 17 Jan 2011 at 23:38

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted to bring the debate to a close and make a decision on setting the number of MPs to some number between 500 and 650.

The House of Lords was considering the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1].

The motion agreed in this vote was:

  • That the Question be now put

This brought the debate on a proposal to limit the number of MPs in the House of Commons to between 500 and 650 to a close, and prompted a vote on the substance of the proposal.

It is not possible to assign a position on the substantive matter on the basis of a member's vote in this divison.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con135 (+1 tell) 063.8%
Crossbench11 48.1%
Lab0 120 (+2 tell)51.9%
LDem69 (+1 tell) 078.7%
Other0 111.1%
UKIP1 050.0%
Total:216 12547.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchno
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Lord Low of DalstonCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Richardson of CalowCrossbenchno
Lord Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive