Police and Criminal Evidence Act (PACE) Code Revision — Stop and Search — Fingerprints and DNA — Entry and Search — CCTV — 9 Feb 2011 at 20:39

The majority of MPs voted to update the Police and Criminal Evidence Act (PACE) Codes in line with changes in legislation and policy.

Changes noted in the explanatory memorandum include:

  • changes in the use of the stop and search powers in sections 44-47 of the Terrorism Act 2000
  • changes made by the Crime and Security Act 2010 to i) reduce the level of recording of stop and search encounters and ii) implement the powers to take fingerprints and samples for recordable offences under sections 61, 62 and 63 PACE and provisions under the Serious Organised Crime and Police Act 2005 section 117 for mobile fingerprinting.
  • changes to Code B on the police’s power to enter and search premises under section 18 of PACE and powers introduced by the Prevention of Terrorism Act 2005 to search premises of persons subject to control orders
  • changes to Code D regarding procedures for obtaining evidence of recognition from viewing images, for example CCTV

The motion approved by the majority of MPs was:

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con262 0085.6%
DUP5 0062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab186 9075.9%
LDem48 0084.2%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
Total:501 18081.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Khalid MahmoodBirmingham, Perry BarrLabno
John MannBassetlawLab (minister)no
Yasmin QureshiBolton South EastLab (minister)no
Geoffrey RobinsonCoventry North WestLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Emily ThornberryIslington South and FinsburyLab (minister)no
Keith VazLeicester EastLab (minister)no
Joan WalleyStoke-on-Trent NorthLab (minister)no
Alan WhiteheadSouthampton, TestLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive