Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Threshold for Making Result of AV Referendum Binding — 16 Feb 2011 at 12:46

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted to make the referendum on using the "alternative vote" system for electing MPs non-binding on the Government if less than 40% of the electorate took part.

The House of Lords was considering the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1]. The amendment accepted in this vote was:

  • Amendment A1: As an amendment to Motion A, leave out from "House" to end and insert "do insist on its Amendments 1 and 8".

Motion A was[2]:

  • That this House do not insist on its Amendments 1 and 8 to which the Commons have disagreed for their Reasons 1A and 8A:

Amendment 1 was[2]:

  • Page 1, line 5, at end insert—
  • “(1A) If less than 40% of the electorate vote in the referendum, the result shall not be binding.”

Amendment 8 was:

  • Page 5, line 36, at end insert—
  • “( ) In section 1(1A)—
  • (a) “the electorate” is defined as those persons entitled to vote in the referendum, as defined in section 2;
  • (b) the turnout figure is to be calculated on the basis that 100% turnout is defined as the total number of individuals who are entitled to vote in the referendum, as defined in section 2; and
  • (c) “vote” is defined as votes counted under Part 1 of this Act.”

Both of these amendments relate to making the referendum on using the "alternative vote" system for electing MPs non-binding on the Government if less than 40% of the electorate took part.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.2%
Con27 120 (+1 tell)66.7%
Crossbench55 1637.6%
DUP2 050.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab175 (+2 tell) 071.7%
LDem1 73 (+1 tell)76.5%
PC0 1100.0%
UKIP1 050.0%
UUP1 150.0%
Total:264 21160.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Cavendish of FurnessConaye
Lord Elton Con (front bench)aye
Lord Flight Conaye
Baroness Fookes Con (front bench)aye
Lord Forsyth of DrumleanCon (front bench)aye
Baroness Gardner of ParkesCon (front bench)aye
Lord Glenarthur Con (front bench)aye
Lord Griffiths of FforestfachConaye
Lord Hamilton of EpsomConaye
Lord Harris of PeckhamConaye
Lord Higgins Conaye
Lord Hodgson of Astley AbbottsConaye
Lord Howard of RisingConaye
Lord Howe of AberavonCon (front bench)aye
Lord Lamont of LerwickConaye
Lord Lawson of BlabyCon (front bench)aye
Lord Mawhinney Conaye
Lord Moore of Lower MarshConaye
Lord Northbrook Conaye
Lord Norton of LouthCon (front bench)aye
Lord Plumb Con (front bench)aye
Lord Reay Conaye
Baroness Sharples Conaye
Lord Stevens of LudgateConaye
Lord Swinfen Con (front bench)aye
Lord Tebbit Conaye
Viscount Trenchard Conaye
Baroness Trumpington Conaye
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchno
Lord Bew Crossbenchno
Lord Boston of FavershamCrossbenchno
Lord Broers Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Butler of BrockwellCrossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Craigavon Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Hennessy of NympsfieldCrossbenchno
Lord Janvrin Crossbenchno
Lord Jay of EwelmeCrossbenchno
Lord Lloyd of BerwickCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Luce Crossbenchno
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Scott of FoscoteCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Tombs Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Wilson of TillyornCrossbenchno
Lord Wright of RichmondCrossbenchno
Viscount Falkland LDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive