Localism Bill — Report (1st Day) — 5 Sep 2011 at 16:09

Amendment 1

Moved by Lord Whitty

1: Before Clause 132, insert the following new Clause-

"Housing strategy

(1) All measures required of local housing authorities in relation to social housing and homelessness as a result of this Part shall be undertaken in consistency with the housing strategy required by subsection (3) and with requirements under section 87 of the Local Government Act 2003 and section 13 of the Planning and Compulsory Purchase Act 2004, and regulations and guidance issued by the Secretary of State.

(2) All local housing authorities must draw up an analysis of housing supply and demand in their areas and neighbouring areas as far as is relevant.

This analysis should include all forms of tenure in their area and cover at least the following-

(a) trends in housing supply and demand in the owner occupied, private rented and social housing sectors;

(b) trends in housing prices and rents;

(c) new developments, new build and conversions;

(d) empty properties;

(e) second homes; and

(f) broad demographic and employment trends in their areas.

(3) On the basis of this analysis, each local housing authority shall draw up a rolling ten year housing strategy for their area."

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 14.2%
Con113 (+1 tell) 051.1%
Crossbench23 1922.1%
DUP0 250.0%
Lab0 134 (+2 tell)55.1%
LDem56 (+1 tell) 059.4%
PC0 1100.0%
UUP2 050.0%
Total:194 15745.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Viscount Allenby of MegiddoCrossbenchaye
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchaye
The Earl of ClancartyCrossbenchaye
Lord Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchaye
Baroness Finlay of LlandaffCrossbenchaye
Baroness Greengross Crossbenchaye
Baroness Grey-Thompson Crossbenchaye
Lord Harries of PentregarthCrossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Howe of IdlicoteCrossbenchaye
Lord Kerr of KinlochardCrossbenchaye
Lord Low of DalstonCrossbench (front bench)aye
The Earl of LyttonCrossbenchaye
Baroness Morgan of DrefelinCrossbenchaye
Lord Moser Crossbenchaye
Lord Neill of BladenCrossbenchaye
Baroness O'Loan Crossbench (front bench)aye
Viscount Tenby Crossbenchaye
Lord Williamson of HortonCrossbenchaye
Baroness Young of HornseyCrossbench (front bench)aye
Viscount Falkland LDemaye
Baroness Neuberger LDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive