Enterprise and Regulatory Reform Bill — Clause 13 — Power to Set Limit on Unfair Dismissal Compensation — 17 Oct 2012 at 14:53

The majority of MPs voted to empower the Secretary of State to set the limit on a compensatory award for unfair dismissal at a point between median annual earnings and three times median annual earnings.

MPs were considering the Enterprise and Regulatory Reform Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 82, page 9, line 1, leave out clause 13.

Clause 13[2] was titled Power by order to increase or decrease limit of compensatory award which gave the Secretary of State powers increase or decrease the limit on a compensatory award for unfair dismissal. A constraint on the power that the amount set must be between median annual earnings and three times median annual earnings.[3]

The limit at the time the Bill was being considered was £72,300, derived from a formula which had resulted in it rising faster than Retail Price Index inflation. For the year ending in April 2012 median gross annual earnings for full-time employees was £26,500[4]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con242 (+1 tell) 0079.7%
DUP6 1087.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 208 (+2 tell)082.4%
LDem42 (+1 tell) 0075.4%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:290 223080.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jim ShannonStrangfordDUP (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive