Charities Act 2011 (Amendment) Bill — Presumption of Charitable Status for Religious Institutions — 19 Dec 2012 at 14:59

The majority of MPs voted to restore a presumption of charitable status for religious institutions.

The motion approved in this vote was:

  • That leave be given to bring in a Bill to amend the Charities Act 2011 to treat all religious institutions as charities; and for connected purposes.

At this stage there was no published Bill. The proposer gave a speech[1] explaining the intent of the proposed Bill and the reason he believed it was required.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con116 (+2 tell) 1 (+2 tell)039.7%
DUP2 0025.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab33 4014.3%
LDem10 2021.1%
PC1 0033.3%
SNP3 0050.0%
Total:166 7027.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Crispin BluntReigateConno
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)tellno
Mark RecklessRochester and StroodCon (front bench)tellno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLab (minister)no
Bill EstersonSefton CentralLab (minister)no
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Glenda JacksonHampstead and KilburnLab (minister)no
Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDem (front bench)no
Martin HorwoodCheltenhamLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive