Canterbury City Council Bill — Clause 4 — Include Provision of Services In Activities Subject to Street Trading Regulations — 6 Feb 2013 at 18:00

The majority of MPs voted to extend the power to regulate street trading to be given to Canterbury City Council to include those supplying or offering services on the streets.

The motion approved in this vote was:

  • That this House agrees with Lords amendment C8

The C designates the amendment as relating to the Canterbury City Council Bill[2].

Lords amendment 8[3] states

  • Leave out Clause 4

Clause 4 of the Bill[4], titled Provision of services sought to extend the definition of street trading under the Local Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1982 to add the supplying of or offering to supply any service in a street to activities which were already covered which were the selling or exposing or offering for sale of any article (including a living thing) in a street. The effect being to extend the range of activities subject to street trading regulations.

The aim of the Canterbury City Council Bill was to give Canterbury City Council better control of street trading and touting in the city of Canterbury.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con145 (+2 tell) 2 (+2 tell)049.5%
DUP2 1037.5%
Lab82 1032.2%
LDem24 0042.9%
PC1 0033.3%
Total:255 4041.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)tellno
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)tellno
Jeffrey M. DonaldsonLagan ValleyDUP (front bench)no
Paul FlynnNewport WestLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive