Groceries Code Adjudicator Bill — New Clause 2 — Preculde Referals to Adjudicator Relating to Suppliers With a Billion Pound or Greater Turnover — 26 Feb 2013 at 15:30

The majority of MPs voted against preventing cases of breaches of the Groceries Code involving suppliers with a turnover in excess of a billion pounds a year being referred to the Groceries Code Adjudicator.

MPs were considering the Groceries Code Adjudicator Bill[1][2]. The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was New Clause 2 titled Supplier turnover which stated:

  • ‘Suppliers are not allowed to refer cases to the Adjudicator and cannot have cases referred on their behalf if their turnover exceeds £1bn per annum.

The Bill provided for the introduction of a Groceries Code Adjudicator to enforce the Groceries Supply Code of Practice (Groceries Code).

The Groceries Code applies to all retailers with a turnover of more than £1 billion in groceries in the United Kingdom. There are ten such retailers.

The Bill provides for suppliers to the retailers covered by the code to request arbitration from the Adjudicator, and the Adjudicator is able to carry out investigations into suspected breaches of the code. The possibility for the Adjudicator to be empowered to issue financial penalties is opened up by the Bill.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con213 (+2 tell) 5 (+2 tell)072.8%
DUP3 1050.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab184 0071.3%
LDem37 0066.1%
PC3 00100.0%
SDLP2 0066.7%
SNP5 0083.3%
Total:448 6071.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)tellaye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)aye
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)aye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)tellaye
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)aye
Justin TomlinsonNorth SwindonCon (front bench)aye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)aye
William McCreaSouth AntrimDUP (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive