European Union — Renewable Sources of Fuel for Machinery, Tractors and Recreational Craft. — 13 Mar 2013 at 19:39

The majority of MPs voted in favour of requiring those supplying fuels to a wider range of users, including mobile machinery, tractors and recreational craft when not at sea, to demonstrate a certain percentage of fuel comes from renewable sources. The order approved was bringing elements of European Union into effect in UK law.

The text of the approved motion was:

The explanatory notes to the draft order[1] state:

The Renewable Transport Fuel Obligation requires a percentage of fuels for road transport supplied in the UK to come from renewable sources and are sustainable (or for a payment to be made in lieu).

This order extends the obligation to apply to suppliers of fuel non-road mobile machinery (including inland waterway vessels when not at sea), agricultural and forestry tractors, and recreational craft when not at sea.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con242 0079.3%
DUP0 5062.5%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 209081.0%
LDem44 0077.2%
PC2 10100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP1 4083.3%
Total:289 224079.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Elfyn LlwydDwyfor MeirionnyddPC (front bench)no
Michael WeirAngusSNP (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive