European Union (Referendum) Bill — New Clause 1 — Right of People of Gibraltar to Vote in Referendum on UK Membership of the EU — 8 Nov 2013 at 12:15

The majority of MPs voted to allow the people of Gibraltar to vote in a referendum on the United Kingdom's membership of the European Union.

The new clause which was added the to the European Union (Referendum) Bill[1][2] in order to enable the people of Gibraltar to vote in the referendum was moved in House of Commons by Andrew Rosindell MP[3]. It reads:

  • ‘(1) An order under section 3(2) or (3) which extends to Gibraltar may—
  • (a) provide for conduct to constitute a criminal offence under the law of Gibraltar;
  • (b) extend and apply to Gibraltar, with or without modification, the provisions of any enactment relating to referendums or elections;
  • (c) modify any such enactment so far as it has effect in relation to any part of the United Kingdom;
  • (d) modify or apply or incorporate, with or without modification, the provisions of any legislation in force in Gibraltar relating to elections, or referendums.
  • (2) The capacity of the Gibraltar legislature to make law in relation to any matter in relation to which provision may be made under section 3 is not affected by the existence of the power conferred by that section.
  • (3) Subsection (2) is not to be regarded as restricting the operation in relation to law made by the Gibraltar legislature of the Colonial Laws Validity Act 1865 (under which colonial laws are void if repugnant to provision made under an Act of Parliament).
  • (4) “Enactment”, and “modification” have the same meaning as in the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 (see section 160(1) of that Act).’.

Andrew Rosindell explained his proposal saying[4]:

  • Of course it is right that we should ensure that the provisions of the Bill before the House today are extended to the people of Gibraltar as loyal subjects of the Crown and as British citizens, to ensure that all 20,000 inhabitants of the Rock are given the right to vote in any forthcoming referendum

Further discussion can be found in the debate.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con290 (+2 tell) 0095.7%
Lab7 0 (+2 tell)03.5%
LDem2 003.6%
Total:299 0048.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Thomas DochertyDunfermline and West FifeLab (minister)tellno
Huw Irranca-DaviesOgmoreLab (minister)tellno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive