European Union (Referendum) Bill — Clause 3 — Breakdown of Results by European Parliament Constituency With Gibraltar Separate — 29 Nov 2013 at 12:30

The majority of MPs voted against requiring publication of a breakdown of the results of a referendum on the UK's membership of the EU by European Parliamentary Constituency; with Gibraltar's result published separately.

The European Union (Referendum) Bill as introduced[1] did not contain any provisions relating to the publication of a breakdown of results.

MP Gareth Thomas proposed an amendment[2], numbered 64, on the amendment sheet[3] which was rejected. The defeated amendment stated:

  • page 2, line 11, at end add—
  • ‘(3A) Results for the referendum will be published for European parliamentary constituencies, except that Gibraltar’s shall be published separately from the rest of the South West return.’

There was some discussion during the debate on the potential impact of Gibraltar voting either against membership of the European Union, or in a different manner from the UK. [4]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con247 (+2 tell) 0081.6%
Lab0 25 (+2 tell)010.5%
LDem0 000.0%
Total:247 25044.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive