Abolition of the National Consumer Council and Transfer of Estate Agent Regulation to Powys Trading Standards — 12 Feb 2014 at 21:02

The majority of MPs voted to abolish the National Consumer Council and to transfer the regulation of estate agencies from the Office of Fair Trading to Powys trading standards.

The explanatory memorandum to the regulation[1] summarise its key effects as being:

  • To abolish the National Consumer Council as of 1 April 2014 and transfer relevant functions to citizens advice services.
  • To transfer the Office of Fair Trading’s estate agency regulation functions to Powys trading standards as of 31 March 2014. (Powys trading standards were appointed through a competitive exercise to become the centre of excellence on estate agency enforcement)
  • To transfer some of the Office of Fair Trading’s consumer advice services to citizens advice services as of 1 April 2014.

The text of the approved motion was:


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con242 0079.3%
DUP3 50100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab0 190073.9%
LDem44 0078.6%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 1016.7%
Total:289 203076.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Gregory CampbellEast LondonderryDUPaye
Jeffrey M. DonaldsonLagan ValleyDUP (front bench)aye
Sammy WilsonEast AntrimDUP (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive