High Speed Rail (London — West Midlands) Bill — Second Reading — 28 Apr 2014 at 22:49

The majority of MPs voted for a High Speed Rail link between London and the West Midlands.

MPs were considering the High Speed Rail (London – West Midlands) Bill[1] and the motion approved in this vote was:

  • That the Bill be now read a Second time.

The approval of the motion signified support for the general principles of the Bill and enabled it to continue on its path to becoming law.

A parliamentary briefing paper prior to the second reading debate[2] explained the effect of the Bill:

  • The Bill confers the powers required to construct Phase One of the proposed HS2 scheme from London Euston to Birmingham Curzon Street and Handsacre with intermediate stations in West London (Old Oak Common) and at Birmingham Airport. It does not provide for a direct connection to Heathrow Airport. While provision for a rail link to the Channel Tunnel Rail Link (HS1) remains in the Bill the Government intends for it to be removed during the Bill’s progress through Parliament.
  • This is a Hybrid Bill, which means it has elements of both a public and a private Bill: it gives both Parliamentary approval and planning permission for the scheme. Those directly and specially affected by the construction of the route will be able to petition a specially-convened select committee on the Bill.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con220 (+2 tell) 26 (+1 tell)081.6%
DUP1 0012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab187 10 (+1 tell)076.7%
LDem39 0069.6%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP5 0083.3%
Total:452 41077.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Steven BakerWycombeConno
John BaronBasildon and BillericayCon (front bench)no
Bob BlackmanHarrow EastCon (front bench)no
Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)no
Andrew BridgenNorth West LeicestershireCon (front bench)no
Dan BylesNorth WarwickshireCon (front bench)no
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)no
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
Michael FabricantLichfieldConno
Dame Cheryl GillanChesham and AmershamConno
James GrayNorth WiltshireCon (front bench)tellno
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
Chris KellyDudley SouthCon (front bench)no
Jeremy LefroyStaffordCon (front bench)no
Julian LewisNew Forest EastCon (front bench)no
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no
Mark PawseyRugbyCon (front bench)no
Christopher PincherTamworthCon (front bench)no
John RandallUxbridge and South RuislipCon (front bench)no
John RedwoodWokinghamConno
Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyCon (front bench)no
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConno
Peter TapsellLouth and HorncastleCon (front bench)no
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)no
Andrew TyrieChichesterCon (front bench)no
Chris WhiteWarwick and LeamingtonCon (front bench)no
Jim CunninghamCoventry SouthLabno
Frank DobsonHolborn and St PancrasLabno
Jim DowdLewisham West and PengeLab (minister)no
Natascha EngelNorth East DerbyshireLab (minister)tellno
Frank FieldBirkenheadLab (minister)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLab (minister)no
Geoffrey RobinsonCoventry North WestLabno
Barry SheermanHuddersfieldLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive