Prohibition of Unpaid Internships — 13 May 2014 at 13:45

The majority of MPs voted to prohibit unpaid internships.

The text of the motion approved in this vote was:

  • That leave be given to bring in a Bill to prohibit unpaid internships; and for connected purposes.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con15 (+2 tell) 17 (+1 tell)111.8%
DUP1 0012.5%
Lab151 1 (+1 tell)059.3%
LDem11 0019.6%
PC2 0066.7%
Total:180 18132.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConaye
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleConaye
John StevensonCarlisleContellaye
Simon BurnsChelmsfordConaye
Martin VickersCleethorpesConaye
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConaye
Henry SmithCrawleyConaye
Alec ShelbrookeElmet and RothwellConaye
Edward LeighGainsboroughConaye
Robert HalfonHarlowConaye
Matthew OffordHendonConaye
Barry SheermanHuddersfieldLabtellno
Nadine DorriesMid BedfordshireConboth
Glyn DaviesMontgomeryshireConaye
Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and LimehouseLabno
Stephen PhillipsSleaford and North HykehamConaye
Robert BucklandSouth SwindonContellaye
Anne McIntoshThirsk and MaltonConaye
Peter AldousWaveneyConaye
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive