International Development (Official Development Assistance Target) Bill — Second Reading — 0.7% of National Income on International Aid — 12 Sep 2014 at 13:50

The majority of MPs voted to set a target of at least 0.7% of national income being spent on international aid and to create a new body to carry out independent evaluation of aid spending.

The majority of MPs voted in favour of the International Development (Official Development Assistance Target) Bill allowing it to continue on its path to becoming law. As a result of this vote the Bill was committed to a Public Bill Committee to discuss it in detail.

The UK's Gross National Income was $2.521 trillion in 2013[2], 0.7% of which is around 17 billion dollars or around 10 billion pounds.

In 2013 the UK reportedly already met this target spending over 11 billion pounds on aid.[3]

The 2013 budget predicted UK Government revenue for 2013-14 would be £620 billion[4]; as a fraction of this revenue aid spending of £11 billion would amount to 1.7%.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con58 (+1 tell) 6 (+2 tell)022.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab70 0027.2%
LDem30 (+1 tell) 0055.4%
SDLP2 0066.7%
SNP1 0016.7%
Total:164 6027.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Philip DaviesShipleyContellno
James GrayNorth WiltshireConno
Philip HolloboneKetteringConno
Adam HollowayGraveshamConno
Gerald HowarthAldershotConno
Edward LeighGainsboroughConno
David NuttallBury NorthContellno
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetConno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive