Infrastructure Bill [HL] — Report (1st Day) — 3 Nov 2014 at 16:44

Amendment 1

Moved by Lord Whitty

1: Before Clause 1, insert the following new Clause-

“Duties of the Secretary of State

Duties of the Secretary of State shall include-

(a) drawing up and granting of a licence to a strategic highways company as provided for in section 1, but this duty may be delegated to the Office of Rail Regulation,

(b) drawing up and presenting from time to time, and at least every five years, to Parliament for approval a Roads Investment Strategy as provided for in section 3,

(c) issuing from time to time directions and guidance under section 4 both to the Office of Rail Regulation and to the licensed strategic highways company,

(d) reporting periodically to Parliament on the performance of the strategic highways network.”

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con147 (+1 tell) 063.0%
Crossbench15 2823.0%
DUP0 133.3%
Green0 1100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Judge0 16.7%
Lab0 149 (+2 tell)67.4%
LDem64 (+1 tell) 061.3%
UUP0 150.0%
Total:226 18253.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Aberdare Crossbenchno
Lord Bew Crossbenchno
Baroness Campbell of SurbitonCrossbenchno
Viscount Craigavon Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Dear Crossbenchno
Baroness Finlay of LlandaffCrossbenchno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Hannay of ChiswickCrossbenchno
Lord Janvrin Crossbenchno
Lord Jay of EwelmeCrossbenchno
Lord Kerr of KinlochardCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Laming Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Luce Crossbenchno
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Stirrup Crossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive