Off-patent Drugs Bill — Second Reading — 7 Nov 2014 at 12:28

The majority of MPs voted for the licensing of off-patent drugs in relation to new ways which have been found to use them.

MPs were considering the Off-patent Drugs Bill[1].

The Bill requires the Secretary of State to take steps to secure a licence for off-patent drugs in relation to new ways which have been found to use them. The Bill also requires an annual report on the steps taken under its provisions.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs taking part in the vote was:

  • That the Bill be now read a Second time.

Support for this motion means the Bill continues on its path towards becoming law.

While moving the motion Jonathan Evans MP explained[2] his motivation for introducing the Bill saying there was no incentive for pharmaceutical companies, or anyone else, to apply for licences for new uses of off-patent drugs as they don't have a monopoly on making money from that drug. He stated that clinicians were deterred from prescribing drugs in circumstances for which they are not licensed and noted it is illegal to advertise and sell such drugs for such purposes if the drug is not licensed.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

All Votes Cast - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party are marked in red. Also shows which MPs were ministers at the time of this vote. You can also see every eligible MP including those who did not vote in this division.

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BottomleyWorthing WestCon (front bench)aye
Lyn BrownWest HamLab (minister)aye
Fiona BruceCongletonCon (front bench)aye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)aye
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)aye
Stephen DoughtyCardiff South and PenarthLab (minister)aye
Jonathan EvansCardiff NorthContellaye
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Hall GreenLabaye
Kate GreenStretford and UrmstonLab (minister)aye
Andrew GriffithsBurtonConaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
George HowarthKnowsleyLab (minister)aye
Huw Irranca-DaviesOgmoreLab (minister)aye
Glenda JacksonHampstead and KilburnLab (minister)aye
Cathy JamiesonKilmarnock and LoudounLab (minister)aye
Jeremy LefroyStaffordCon (front bench)aye
Elfyn LlwydDwyfor MeirionnyddPC (front bench)aye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLab (minister)aye
Graeme MorriceLivingstonLab (minister)aye
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)tellaye
Jamie ReedCopelandLab (minister)aye
Bob StewartBeckenhamCon (front bench)aye
Harriett BaldwinWest WorcestershireCon (front bench)no
George FreemanMid NorfolkCon (front bench)no
Damian HindsEast HampshireCon (front bench)tellno
Mel StrideCentral DevonCon (front bench)tellno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive