Transposing European Union Criminal Justice and Data Protection Measures into UK Law — 10 Nov 2014 at 20:01

The majority of MPs voted for continued close working between the UK and other European Union states on criminal justice as well as for associated data protection measures.

The motion approved by the majority of MPs in this vote was

The regulations would transpose eleven European Union criminal justice and data protection measures into UK law. These measures were among those the UK had earlier in the year decided to opt out of.

The eleven measures in question relate to the following schemes[1]:

  • Confiscation and Freezing Orders
  • "ECRIS"; which requires Member States to inform each other about convictions of EU nationals in another Member State
  • European Supervision Order; which enables a suspect or defendant subject to a pre-trial non-custodial supervision measure (such as supervised bail) in a Member State in which they are not resident, to be supervised in their home, or other, Member State un til such time as their trial takes place.
  • Joint Investigation Teams (“JITs”); to prevent and combat crime (especially drug trafficking, people trafficking and terrorism) by providing for closer cooperation between police forces, customs authorities and other competent authorities in Member States.
  • Mutual Recognition of Financial Penalties scheme; which requires Member States to collect financial penalties (of over £55.31 or €70) transferred by other Member States, as they would a domestic financial penalty.
  • Prisoner Transfer Framework; which provides for the compulsory transfer of foreign national offenders between Member States without the consent of the prisoner
  • Swedish Initiative; which seeks to simplify the exchange of information and intelligence between law enforcement authorities in Member States for the purposes of conducting criminal investigations or criminal intelligence operations.
  • Trials in absentia; several measures relate to this scheme which deals with the issue of judgements in absentia and require mutual recognition of such judgements.
  • Data Protection Framework Decision; which establishes a common level of protection and an appropriate level of security when Member States exchange personal data within the framework of police and judicial cooperation in criminal matters.

Earlier in the day Secretary of State for Justice Chris Grayling stated[2]:

  • I want to be clear that the debate and vote will be taken as a vote on the whole package of 35 measures as a whole

However the Speaker, pre-empting such a statement, had said[3]:

  • I ask hon. and right hon. Members to lighten the burden on the Chair by holding in their minds the actual question before the House.

The Speaker also clarified explicitly that those measures which the UK was to opt back into which were not covered by the regulations (as a result of them not needing to be transposed into UK law) were not the subject of the vote. The specific scheme, not covered by the regulations and related vote that MPs were particularly interested in was the European Arrest Warrant. The Speaker said[4]:

  • I can. Members can interpret all they like, but there will not today be a vote on the specific matter of membership of the European arrest warrant. That is the reality.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con224 (+1 tell) 36 (+1 tell)086.5%
DUP1 1025.0%
Independent2 00100.0%
Lab186 1072.5%
LDem41 (+1 tell) 0075.0%
PC2 0066.7%
SDLP2 0066.7%
SNP6 00100.0%
UKIP0 0 (+1 tell)0100.0%
Total:464 38079.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Adam AfriyieWindsorCon (front bench)no
Steven BakerWycombeCon (front bench)no
Steve BarclayNorth East CambridgeshireConno
John BaronBasildon and BillericayCon (front bench)no
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestCon (front bench)no
Andrew BridgenNorth West LeicestershireCon (front bench)no
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)no
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Nick de BoisEnfield NorthCon (front bench)no
Richard DraxSouth DorsetCon (front bench)no
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkCon (front bench)no
James GrayNorth WiltshireCon (front bench)no
Chris Heaton-HarrisDaventryCon (front bench)no
Gordon HendersonSittingbourne and SheppeyCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)tellno
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexCon (front bench)no
Chris KellyDudley SouthCon (front bench)no
Edward LeighGainsboroughCon (front bench)no
Julian LewisNew Forest EastCon (front bench)no
Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenCon (front bench)no
Anne MainSt AlbansCon (front bench)no
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyCon (front bench)no
Karl McCartneyLincolnCon (front bench)no
Nigel MillsAmber ValleyCon (front bench)no
Anne Marie MorrisNewton AbbotCon (front bench)no
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleCon (front bench)no
Dominic RaabEsher and WaltonCon (front bench)no
John RedwoodWokinghamConno
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetCon (front bench)no
Simon ReevellDewsburyCon (front bench)no
Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyCon (front bench)no
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConno
Robert SymsPooleCon (front bench)no
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)no
John WhittingdaleMaldonCon (front bench)no
Bill WigginNorth HerefordshireConno
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive