Infrastructure Bill — Safeguards and Conditions for Hydraulic Fracturing Activities (Fracking) — 11 Feb 2015 at 20:27

The majority of MPs voted to require a more extensive set of conditions be met prior to consent for hydraulic fracturing being given, and to give local planning authorities a greater role in assessing if those conditions have been met.

MPs were considering the Infrastructure Bill[1]

The motion supported by the majority of MPs taking part in this vote was:

  • That this House does not insist on Commons amendment 21 and agrees to Lords amendments 21B, 21C and 21D in lieu of Commons amendment 21, and that this House agrees to Lords amendments 33A to Commons amendment 33.

Commons amendment 21 and the Lords amendments in lieu[2][3] which were accepted in this vote can be seen in the record of the Lords debate where the proposed replacements were introduced.

The Lords amendments introduced a much more detailed and extensive set of safeguards and conditions to replace the "Necessary Conditions for Hydraulic Fracturing" previously agreed by MPs.

Commons amendment 33 which was amended as a result of this vote applied sections 38 to 43 of the Infrastructure Bill (on hydraulic fracturing regulation) to England and Wales only, the Lords Amendment to the amendment added the new clause to the end of that section:

  • Line 2, after “43” insert “and section (Onshore hydraulic fracturing: safeguards)”


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con232 (+2 tell) 5078.9%
DUP0 1012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab0 181 (+2 tell)070.9%
LDem25 3050.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:257 203072.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jason McCartneyColne ValleyCon (front bench)no
Mark MenziesFyldeCon (front bench)no
Eric OllerenshawLancaster and FleetwoodConno
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleCon (front bench)no
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)no
Adrian SandersTorbayLDem (front bench)no
Mark WilliamsCeredigionLDem (front bench)no
Roger WilliamsBrecon and RadnorshireLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive