Wind Farm Subsidies (Abolition) Bill — Second Reading — 6 Mar 2015 at 12:50

The majority of MPs voted in favour of public subsidies for electricity generating wind farms.

The motion rejected by the majority of MPs taking part in this vote was:

  • That the Bill be now read a Second time.

The Bill's operative clause states:

  • 1. Onshore wind farm subsidies
  • (1) No payment shall be made by any government department or agency-
  • (a) in excess of the prevailing wholesale price of electricity in respect of electricity generated by onshore wind farms; or
  • (b) otherwise for the purpose of subsidising the construction, development or operation of onshore wind farms for the purpose of generating electricity.
  • (2) Subsection (1) shall not apply to payments made or due to be made in respect of onshore wind farms already operational prior to this Act coming into force.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con23 (+2 tell) 7 (+2 tell)011.2%
Lab13 005.0%
LDem2 003.6%
Total:38 707.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)tellaye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)tellaye
Geoffrey CoxTorridge and West DevonCon (front bench)aye
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)aye
Alan DuncanRutland and MeltonConaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
Greg KnightEast YorkshireCon (front bench)aye
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleCon (front bench)aye
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive