Representation of the People (Proportional Representation) (House of Commons) Bill — Leave to Bring In — 16 Dec 2015 at 15:01

The majority of MPs voted against proposals to make the number of MPs from each party in the House of Commons more closely reflect each party's share of the national vote and against a move to fewer constituencies.

The motion rejected by the majority of MPs taking part in this vote was:

  • That leave be given to bring in a Bill
  • to amend the Representation of the People Acts to provide for the introduction of proportional representation as a method for electing a certain number of Members of the House of Commons;
  • to make provision about changing existing constituencies and reducing their number;
  • and for connected purposes.

During the speech introducing the motion Jonathan Reynolds MP stated[1] the bill sought to introduce:

The Bill itself did not appear to have been published as of the time of the vote.

While the motion refers to reducing the number of constituencies the number of MPs may not reduce depending on the how many MPs were elected via party lists.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con135 (+2 tell) 0041.5%
DUP3 0037.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab26 16 (+2 tell)019.0%
LDem0 5062.5%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
UKIP0 10100.0%
Total:164 27033.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Graham AllenNottingham NorthLabaye
Kevin BarronRother ValleyLab (minister)aye
Ben BradshawExeterLab (minister)aye
Richard BurdenBirmingham, NorthfieldLab (minister)aye
Stella CreasyWalthamstowLab (minister)aye
Jon CruddasDagenham and RainhamLabaye
Geraint DaviesSwansea WestLab (minister)aye
Jim DowdLewisham West and PengeLab (minister)aye
Paul FlynnNewport WestLab (minister)aye
Helen GoodmanBishop AucklandLab (minister)tellaye
Margaret HodgeBarkingLabaye
Fiona MactaggartSloughLabaye
Jonathan ReynoldsStalybridge and HydeLab (minister)aye
Andrew SmithOxford EastLab (minister)aye
Wes StreetingIlford NorthLab (minister)aye
Stephen TwiggLiverpool, West DerbyLab (minister)aye
Chuka UmunnaStreathamLab (minister)aye
Daniel ZeichnerCambridgeLab (minister)tellaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive